Skip to main content

DiLauro - Movements in Poetry: Resources

Reminder!

Don't    forget    to    cite    your    sources    in    MLA    format!

Project Guidelines (Word Doc)

Project Guidelines

Movements in Poetry Project

1. First, you will choose a topic from the list below (no repeats!)

  • Renaissance (two students)
  • Romantic (two students)
  • Victorian (two students)
  • Augustan (two students)
  • Confessional
  • New York School
  • Imagist
  • Modern
  • Post-Modern
  • Confessional
  • Beat
  • Harlem Renaissance

2. You will the create a slide presentation on the following:

  • Historical Context of the Movement
  • Major Themes (at least five)
  • List of Movement Poets (at least five)
  • One poem from each poet WITH an analysis of that poem

3. On the day of presentations, you must provide the class with an informational one page handout. You MAY NOT read aloud from the powerpoint. Powerpoints should only support your presentation, not BE the presentation.

4. If you work in a team, I want to know who did what, and it must be written down so I can grade you fairly and accurately.

5. You must use at least three reliable sources for your projects and provide a works CITED slide or list to me.

 

DUE: February 25th 2016 (Share via google drive, please!)

Librarian

Tiffany Emerick
Contact:
Bensalem High School
4319 Hulmeville Rd
Bensalem, PA 19020
215-750-2800 x3007

Search Ebooks

Research databases
Limit Your Results

More Poetry Links

Victorian Poetry Network

The Victorian Poetry Network (VPN) aims to be a virtual hub for Victorian poetry research and teaching. VPN is a collaborative project, bringing together scholars and students of Victorian poetry to create a dynamic digital community. VPN will achieve three things: a blog authored by the VPN team and invited scholars in the field, a resource center for research projects and teaching, and a social space.

Academy of American Poets

Sign up for a daily poem, find poetry for the right occasion, or learn more about poetry near you!

American Verse Project

The American Verse Project is an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. Search the archive for keywords, full text, author, or unique words.

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, Ninth Edition

A Collection of Passages, Phrases, and Proverbs Traced to Their Sources in Ancient and Modern Literature

Electronic Poetry Collection

Full text poems online, from SUNY Buffalo's Electronic Poetry Center.

Representative Poetry Online (University of Toronto)

A comprehensive poetry companion, containing criticisms, glossaries, bibliographies, and over 4,800 poems in English and French by over 700 poets spanning 1400 years.

The Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection

"The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period."

MAPS: The Modern American Poetry Site

"The Modern American Poetry Site is a comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry. Started as a multimedia companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry (Oxford University Press, 2000), MAPS has grown over the past decade to more than 30,000 pages of biographies, critical essays, syllabi and images relating to 161 poets."